Committed To

Protecting Your Future

  1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. Social Security Disability
  4.  | What is the Compassionate Allowances List?

What is the Compassionate Allowances List?

On Behalf of | Oct 19, 2022 | Social Security Disability

The Social Security Administration is responsible for the Social Security Disability Insurance program and Supplemental Security Income program. Both of these programs help people who are disabled to get the money they need to survive. One of the primary issues that plague both of these programs is that the application process is lengthy.

Some people who are applying for one of these programs may not be able to wait for the lengthy approval process because their condition is so severe that they’d probably pass away before a determination is made. In order to try to help those individuals, the SSA has a Compassionate Allowances List.

What is the CAL?

The CAL is a predetermined list of conditions that are so severe they’re assumed to qualify for SSDI or SSI benefits. These are all conditions that are likely to last at least a year and ultimately result in death. There are cancers, rare diseases, and some neurodegenerative disorders on the list. Some of these include:

  • Adult non-Hodgkin lymphoma
  • ALS/Parkinsonism dementia complex
  • Hydranencephaly
  • Inflammatory breast cancer
  • Xeroderma pigmentosum
  • Transplant coronary artery vasculopathy
  • Sarcomatoid mesothelioma
  • Posterior cortical atrophy
  • Nut carcinoma
  • Ewing sarcoma
  • Krabbe disease (infantile)
  • Early-onset Alzheimer’s disease

How are applications with these conditions processed?

The SSA uses an automated system for processing applications. When you fill out the application, you have to list the conditions you have. If you list one of the conditions on the CAL, the application is flagged for review. You don’t have to do anything special for this to occur.

You should include the medical documentation for your condition in the application so it can be processed as quickly as possible. In most cases, an application that has a CAL flag will be processed within a week to a few months, depending on the circumstances.

Anyone who’s applying for programs administered by the SSA should ensure their applications are filled out thoroughly and accurately. This may help the application to go through the process as quickly as possible. If you’re denied the benefits you’re due, you can opt to file an appeal. Having someone to help you through that process is beneficial.